
 

 
 
Dear Feed Manufacturer, Labeler and Distributor: 
 
Thank you for your interest in becoming part of Wisconsin’s commercial feed industry.  
Enclosed is a packet that contains the required applications and reports needed to distribute, 
label or manufacture commercial feed in Wisconsin.  The packet also contains other supporting 
information to assist in the completion of the required documents.  
 
You should become familiar with and follow the enclosed Wisconsin Commercial Feed Law 
(Sec. 94.72, Wisconsin Statutes) and the Wisconsin Commercial Feed Rule (ATCP 42, 
Wisconsin Administrative Code).  Additionally, you can access both from our Web site 
(http://www.datcp. state.wi.us/arm/agriculture/animals/feed/index.jsp) or call 608/224-4537 and 
request copies.  Some key areas include: 
 
Commercial Feed License Application 
An annual license is required for any person who manufactures, labels or distributes commercial 
feed in Wisconsin.  There is a license fee of $25 per year--the license year runs from March 1-
February 28/29. Complete one form for the principal mailing site and each Wisconsin site where 
feed is manufactured, labeled or distributed (see definition on General Information sheet).  If 
all sites of manufacturing/labeling are outside Wisconsin, then a single payment of $25 is 
required. 
 
Labels  
Labels must conform with Section 94.74 (2) Wis. Stats. and ch. ATCP 42.04 (Wis. Adm. Code). 
New applicants send copies of your product labels with your application and existing licensees 
send copies of labels for new products only.  The issuance of a commercial feed license does 
not in any way mean that the department finds the commercial feed labels are in compliance 
with either state or federal commercial feed laws. 
 
General Information Sheet  
This form provides definitions and information on commercial feed categories. 
 
Exempt Buyer List  
Exempt Buyers pay the inspection fee on all commercial feed they distribute.  Persons selling 
commercial feeds to Exempt Buyers may claim an inspection credit for that feed.  See Section 
94.72 (6) (f), Wis. Stats. for more information. 
 
Social Security Form  
Wisconsin law requires that we collect the social security number of each individual applying for 
a license.  See enclosed form #ARM-356, Request for Social Security Number (SSN) for details. 
 
Tonnage Report 
The inspection fee is $0.25 per ton for commercial feed tonnage sold or distributed into/within 
Wisconsin from January through December. The licensee who first sells or distributes a feed 
in/into Wisconsin is responsible for the inspection fee, unless he distributes it to an Exempt 
Buyer. Credit can be taken for pre-paid tonnage.  The tonnage report form will be mailed with a 
commercial feed license renewal application in January of each year. 

 

http://www.legis.state.wi.us/statutes/01Stat0094.pdf
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code/atcp/atcp042.pdf


 
Sales of less than one ton are considered equal to one ton and require the $0.25 per ton 
tonnage fee.  The inspection fee for feed distributed during the year will be collected during next 
year's license renewal period.   
 
For manufacturers/distributors who have not sold or distributed feed in Wisconsin, your tonnage 
fee will be zero.  You will still need to complete and return a tonnage report form. 
 
The issuance of a commercial feed license does not preclude the department’s request for 
further information or taking action in order to secure compliance with the commercial feed rule 
and laws of Wisconsin. 
 
   
Please return check, copies of product labels and all completed forms to: 
 
STATE OF WISCONSIN 
WDATCP 
PO BOX 93193 
MILWAUKEE WI  53293-0193 
 
 

CONTACTS 
LICENSE RENEWAL & TONNAGE PATTY ROELOFS    

patty.roelofs@wisconsin.gov 
(608) 224-4537 

TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE NATE BARTZ,  FEED SPECIALIST 
nathaniel.bartz@wisconsin.gov 

(608) 224-4539 

WEB ADDRESS www.datcp.state.wi.us  

 
 



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
GENERAL INFORMATION 

Wisconsin Commercial Feed License Application and Inspection Fee Tonnage Report 
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
 
A.  DEFINITIONS 
  (Section 94.72, Wis. Stats., and, ch.  ATCP 42, Wis. Adm. Code) 
 
"Manufacture" means to mix, blend, process, package or label commercial feed. 
 
"Process" as defined by the Association of American Feed Control Officials means:  de-hulling, extraction, 
extrusion, heat-processing, irradiating, kibbling, pearling, polishing, rendering, roasting, or steaming.  (This list is 
not all-inclusive.) 
 
“Labeler” means a person who labels commercial feed. “Labeler” includes a person, other than the final retail 
purchaser, who retains the proprietary rights to the specifications of a commercial feed. 
 
"Commercial feed" means all products or materials used or distributed for use as a feed or ingredient in the 
mixing or manufacturing of feed for animals or birds, except the following: 
 
    1. Non-processed, whole seeds or grains with an established USDA Grain Standard, and the unmixed meals 

made from them. 
 (Examples:  whole corn, ground corn, oats, milo, millet); *cotton seed is not exempted; 
 
    2. Whole hays, straws, cottonseed hulls, stover (dried foliage & stalks), and silage (fermented, chopped 

plants) when unmixed with other materials; 
 
    3. Meat and other portions of animal or fish carcasses in their raw state without further processing, except 

freezing or denaturing. 
 
B.  WHO MUST HAVE A COMMERCIAL FEED LICENSE? 
 
A license is required for: 
 Any person who manufactures, labels or distributes commercial feed in/into Wisconsin. 
 Manufacturers or distributors located outside of Wisconsin (no established place of business in Wisconsin) who 

distribute commercial feed into Wisconsin; one license will cover all such out-of-state sites.  If your sites are 
both in-state and out-of-state, the license fee is required only for each Wisconsin site with 
manufacturing/labeling activity. 

 
No license is required for persons distributing only: 
 Packaged commercial feed in the original packages of a Wisconsin licensee, with that licensee's original label; 
 Bulk commercial feed in the form received from a Wisconsin licensee, and as labeled by that licensee; 
 Feeds custom-mixed at the request of the final purchaser at retail, using commercial feeds obtained from 

Wisconsin-licensed suppliers. 
 
Feed licenses are annual (March 1 through February 28/29). 
 
C.  INSPECTION FEES AND TONNAGE REPORTS 
 
An annual inspection fee must be paid on all commercial feed distributed in/into Wisconsin by persons required to 
be licensed.  The inspection fee is on a per-ton basis, and the tonnage report for the previous calendar year is filed 
with the commercial feed license renewal application.  As of January 1, 2002, tonnage fees are $0.25 per ton of 
commercial feed.  Sales of 1 pound to 2000 pounds are reported as one ton.  Tonnage is reported in whole tons.  
Tonnage is rounded up to the next whole ton. 
 
 



In the chain of distribution for a commercial feed, the one who first sells the feed in Wisconsin, or who first 
distributes the feed for further sale in Wisconsin is responsible  for paying the inspection fee, unless the 
commercial feed is sold to an Exempt Buyer (see below).  If a feed under your label is being shipped to a 
Wisconsin location from your out-of-state plant (regardless of billing address), you must pay the Wisconsin 
inspection fee.  This is true even though the Wisconsin purchaser may take title and possession of the feed at your 
out-of-state plant.  As the labeler, you would be the first person in the chain of distribution. 
 
Exempt Buyers 
 
Some feed manufacturers located in Wisconsin are classified by the Department as Exempt Buyers (see list).  The 
Exempt Buyer is responsible for paying the inspection fee on all commercial feed it distributes; credit can be 
claimed by an Exempt Buyer for its sales outside Wisconsin or to other Exempt Buyers.  Persons selling 
commercial feeds to Exempt Buyers may claim an inspection fee credit for that feed.  Note that the tonnage of 
commercial feed sold to an Exempt Buyer should be included on your tonnage report (on page 3--column 1 or 
column 3).  Then, claim the credit on page 3 (column 2 or 4) and itemize that credit on the lower half of page 4.  
Credits for sales to Exempt Buyers can only be taken from those Exempt Buyers approved by the Department. 
 
D.  COMMERCIAL FEED CATEGORIES 
 
Feed tonnage should be reported in the proper category (on page 3 of the Commercial Feed Tonnage Annual 
Report) according to species (when indicated) and type of feed. Accurate reporting of your tonnage in the proper 
category will assist in making this information meaningful to the industry.  Ingredients not fitting into a listed 
category should be entered in "Miscellaneous Products". Use the following guidelines for determining the 
proper categories to report tonnage: 
 

Complete Feeds are feeds designed to be fed as the sole ration to the animal, with no additional grain, 
forage or protein supplementation. 

 
Supplements (also called concentrates) are feeds designed to be the major source of protein, minerals, 
trace minerals and vitamins to the animal.  They would be fed or mixed with additional grain and/or forage. 
 Beef or dairy supplements may contain grain and be fed with only additional forage. 

 
Mineral Feeds may contain calcium, phosphorus, other macro-minerals and trace minerals; they usually do 
not contain protein or fat. 

 
Vitamin Feeds may contain a variety of vitamins and are designed to provide vitamin supplementation to 
the feed. 

 
Premixes may contain a mixture of vitamins, trace minerals or other micro-ingredients. 

 
Veal/Calf Feeds are dry feeds (not milk replacers) fed to dairy, beef or veal calves.  

 
Milk Replacers include milk replacers intended for any type of young animal (veal calves, beef calves, 
dairy calves, lambs, swine, or others). 

 
Pet Foods are any products fed to animals kept as pets.  Wild bird food goes under Miscellaneous. 

 
Miscellaneous includes any commercial feeds not included in the other categories, such as wild bird 
food, mink feeds, direct fed microbial products, etc. 

 
Medicated Feeds (see license form): There are two categories of animal drugs used in feed. 
 "FDA MFL Required” also known as "Category II, Type A" drugs.  Use of this type of drug requires 

a Federal Medicated Feed License (MFL) from Food & Drug Administration (FDA). 
 "Non-MFL": also known as "Category I" (but includes "Category II, Type B & C" drugs). 
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FIRMS THAT HAVE BEEN GRANTED WISCONSIN EXEMPT BUYER STATUS 
 

JULY 1, 2009 
 
As of the above date, the firms listed below have been granted the status of Exempt Buyer by the Department of 
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, Agricultural Resource Management Division, under section 
94.72(6)(f) of the Wisconsin Feed Law.  (This list will be updated each year.) These firms are responsible for 
paying the inspection fees on your 2009 feed sales to them.  On your Tonnage Report, include all your sales to 
Exempt Buyers on page 3 (column 1 or 3); then claim credit on page 3 (column 2 or 4) and itemize this credit on 
the lower half of page 4. 
 

LICENSE NO. CORPORATE HEADQUARTERS EXEMPT-BUYER WISCONSIN 
LOCATION 

38-012294-003465 ADM Alliance Nutrition, Inc. 
1000 N. 30th St. 
 PO Box C1 
Quincy, IL 62305 

6104 McKee Rd. 
Madison, WI 53719 

38-001689-001689 B & B Specialties, Inc. 
1104 S. Monroe St, PO Box 135 
Spencer, WI 54479 

1104 S. Monroe St. 
Spencer, WI 54479 

38-006546-002291 Cargill Incorporated 
15407 McGinty Rd.  
Wayzata, MN 55391 

1800 E. Elm Dr. 
Little Chute WI 54140 
 

38-006546-011426 Cargill Incorporated 
15407 McGinty Rd.  
Wayzata, MN 55391 

1425 E High St.  
Milton, WI 53563 

38-001266-010370 Domain, Inc. 
156 High St. 
New Richmond, WI 54017 

156 High St.  
New Richmond, WI 54017 

38-000731-003462 
 

Delong Company Inc. 
601 Delco Dr.  PO Box 552 
Clinton, WI 53525 

501-513 Front St. 
Clinton, WI 53525 

38-006773-002334 Hubbard Feeds, Inc. 
424 N. Riverfront Dr. PO Box 8500 
Mankato, MN 56002-8500 

1915 W. Edgewood Dr. 
Appleton, WI 54911 

38-014876-002343 Land O’ Lakes Purina Feed, LLC 
1080 County Rd. F West 
Shoreview, MN 55126-2910 

717 S. Hickory St. 
Fond Du Lac, WI 54935-0389 

38-003906-003906 Strauss Feeds, L.L.C. 
600 Strauss-Provimi Rd.   PO Box 149 
North Manchester, IN 46962 

W7507 Provimi Rd. 
Watertown, WI 53094 

38-001222-001222 Vita Plus Corp. 
2514 Fish Hatchery Rd.  PO Box 259126 
Madison, WI 53713-9126 

1508 W. Badger Rd. 
Madison, WI 53713 
 

38-001222-003489 Vita Plus Corp. 
2514 Fish Hatchery Rd.   PO Box 259126 
Madison, WI 53713-9126 

640 Vita Plus Dr. 
Fall River, WI 53932 
 

38-001222-000544 Vita Plus Corp. 
2514 Fish Hatchery Rd.   PO Box 259126 
Madison, WI 53713-9126 

319 N. Dickason Blvd.  
Columbus, WI 53925 
 

If you have any questions on firms with Exempt Buyer status, please contact Wisconsin's feed 
program staff at (608) 224-4537. 



ARM-ACM-346 (Rev. 01/10) 

FOR DATCP USE ONLY 

License Number: 

Date Issued: 

 

Wisconsin Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 
Division of Agricultural Resource Management 
Bureau of Agrichemical Management 
Phone:  (608) 224-4537 

259 7590 S7 700R 7000 7B     $ 

New Commercial Feed License Application 
for March 1, 2010 to February 28, 2011 (Section 94.72(5), Wis. Stats. and ch. ATCP 42, Wis. Adm. Code)) 
LEGAL BUSINESS NAME AND ADDRESS MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT FROM LEGAL ADDRESS) 

LEGAL BUSINESS NAME C/O 

CONTACT NAME CONTACT NAME 

STREET ADDRESS PO BOX STREET ADDRESS PO BOX 

CITY STATE ZIP CITY STATE ZIP 

DOING BUSINESS AS NAME FEDERAL EMPLOYER I.D. # (FEIN) (OPTIONAL) 

IF DOING BUSINESS UNDER NEW NAME, LIST PREVIOUS BUSINESS NAME PREVIOUS FEED LICENSE # (IF KNOWN) 

31-                                 38- 

-CHECK ONE-      Partnership       Cooperative       Corporation       Sole Proprietor        LLC   

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS: 
No person shall manufacture or distribute commercial feed in this state without an annual license from the department. “Manufacture” means to mix, blend, 
process, package or label commercial feed.  No license shall be required of persons distributing only: 
 1. Packaged commercial feed in the original container of a licensed manufacturer or distributor, as packaged and labeled by them, and their name 

and address appear on the label; 
 2. Bulk commercial feed as received from, and properly labeled by, a licensee; 
 3. Feeds custom-mixed at retail if commercial feeds used in the mixture are obtained from a licensee, with an invoice verifying the licensee’s 

payment of the inspection fee. 
NOTE: Licenses are non-transferable and fees are non-refundable.  Additional business locations may not begin operating during the license year without 

submitting an additional license application and payment of an additional $25 fee. 

If all sites are outside Wisconsin, use one form to show headquarters. 

WISCONSIN SITE INFORMATION:  COMPLETE ONE FORM FOR EACH WISCONSIN SITE.   

Complete one form for the principal mailing site as denoted on product labels and each Wisconsin site where feed is manufactured or labeled. 
SITE ADDRESS IN WISCONSIN CITY STATE ZIP 

WI COUNTY DATE BUSINESS ESTABLISHED AT THIS SITE  

CHOOSE THE APPROPRIATE OPERATION AND MANUFACTURING ACTIVITIES FOR YOUR WISCONSIN FACILITY 

TYPE OF OPERATION IN WISCONSIN MANUFACTURING ACTIVITY 

PR  Processing 
PK  Packaging 
L  Labeling 
B  Mixing/Blending 

C  Custom Mixing D  Distributor/Sales 
M2  Medicated (FDA MFL required) O  Main Office 
M1  Medicated (non - MFL) S  Branch 
NC  Nutritional Consulting W  Warehouse 

LICENSE FEE 
A. In-State Manufacturers or Distributors: 

Wisconsin site with feed manufacturing activity: ............................................................................................................ $25.00   A 
(Complete one form for each Wisconsin site showing all types of operation at each site.) 

B. Out-of-State Manufacturers or Distributors: 
With no Wisconsin manufacturing sites, you will owe $25. 
If you have sites in Wisconsin and in another state, use “A” above and pay only in-state fees...................................... $25.00   B 
 

 Total due for this site:  A or B......................... $ ____________  

I certify that all information on this application is true and correct and by signing certify that on issuance of my license I will be in compliance with Sec. 94.72, Wisconsin State 
Statutes and ATCP 42, Wisconsin Administrative Code. 

APPLICANT SIGNATURE YOUR NAME AND TITLE (PRINT OR TYPE) 

DATE TELEPHONE NUMBER 

(        ) 

FAX NUMBER 

(        ) 

E-MAIL ADDRESS WEBSITE ADDRESS 

Personal information you provide may be used for purposes other than that for which it was originally collected (S. 15.04 (1) (m) Wis. Stats.). 

Make check payable to WDATCP.  Mail form, labels and check to: State of Wisconsin, DATCP, Box 93193, Milwaukee WI  53293-0193 
 



ARM-356 (Rev. 01/09) 
 
For Office Use Only 

 

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 
Division of Agricultural Resource Management 
PO Box 8911 
Madison WI  53708-8911 
Phone:  (608) 224-4500 

 
License Number:_____________________ 
 
Date received:_______________________ 
 

Request for Social Security Number (SSN) (Section 93.135, Wis. Stats.) 

 

PLEASE READ THIS IMPORTANT NOTICE 

 
PLEASE COMPLETE THIS FORM, ATTACH IT TO THE APPLICATION, AND RETURN IT IN THE ENVELOPE PROVIDED OR MAIL IT 

TO THE ADDRESS LISTED ON THE APPLICATION. 

Section 93.135, Wis. Stats., requires the Department to collect the Social Security Number (SSN) of every Sole Proprietor or 
individual applying for an original license, registration, permit or certificate. 
 
This requirement DOES NOT APPLY TO: 
 
1. Any of the following which are registered with the Department of Financial Institutions:  Limited Partnerships, Limited 

Liability Partnerships (LLP), Limited Liability Companies (LLC), Corporations or Cooperatives.  Please do not substitute a 
Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) for the SSN, even if you are an individual that holds both of these 
numbers. 

 
2. General Partnerships. However, any licensee operating as a General Partnership must provide a copy of the legal 

partnership agreement, or page 1 of its most recently filed IRS form 1065, as proof of their exemption from the 
requirement (return documentation with your application). 

 
 
Wisconsin Statute s. 93.135 requires the Department to collect the SSN from each applicant who is an individual or a sole 
proprietor and provide it to the Department of Workforce Development.  The Department will handle and protect the 
confidentiality of SSN in accordance with its Security of Personal Information policy 
 

BY LAW, THE DEPARTMENT MAY NOT ISSUE A LICENSE, CERTIFICATE, REGISTRATION, OR PERMIT TO AN 
INDIVIDUAL OR SOLE PROPRIETOR UNTIL THE APPLICANT PROVIDES HIS OR HER SSN. 

 1. Individual’s Name:    
 First                               Middle                           Last 
 

 2. Also operating under the following business names (please list if any): 

    

 3. Social Security Number (Individuals and Sole Proprietors must provide their SSN) DO NOT SUPPLY FEIN 

  - -  

  

NOTE: If this license, permit, certificate, or registration is to be issued to a married couple, each individual must 
complete a separate form and return it with the application.  This form can be photocopied/duplicated.  
Each individual must complete a separate form. 

 


	Feed License Cover Letter
	General Information

	Exempt Buyer Status

	Commercial Feed License Application - New

	Request for Social Security Number (SSN)

