
ENTERTAINMENT, ART AND LEISURE  
 

Time-Share Ownership 
 
Background 
In a “timesharing” arrangement, a consumer buys a property interest in a condominium, resort, 
campground or other facility.  The property interest entitles the consumer to use a living unit and 
related facilities for a specified period of time in each of several years.  For example, a consumer 
might buy a “timeshare” entitling the consumer to vacation at a resort during the same week in 
each of the next 4 years. Other consumers may buy different “timeshares” in the same living 
unit.    
 
Sellers often use direct mail and telemarketing to promote time-shares. They frequently offer 
“free” incentives to consumers who visit time-share properties and listen to sales presentations.  
Although time-share offers can be legitimate, they can also pose serious risks for consumers.  As 
in all real estate transactions, consumers should be careful when purchasing time-shares. 
 
 Consumers often complain about high-pressure sales tactics, deceptive gift offers, 

undisclosed costs and unfulfilled promises.   
 Consumers may find that they are unable to use the property as planned. 
 Some sellers promise that consumers can spend time at different time-share locations.  But 

actual choices may be limited.     
 Some consumers have lost their property investment when time-share promoters went 

bankrupt or out of business.   
 Some consumers have paid for time-share properties that were never constructed or 

completed. 
 
Time-Share Sellers 

The	Wisconsin	Department	of	Regulation	and	Licensing	(DRL)	regulates	time‐share	
sellers	under	Wisconsin	Statutes	chapter	452.			
 

 A time-share seller must be a licensed real estate broker, or must be supervised by a licensed broker.  
DRL licenses real estate brokers. 

 Time-share sellers must register with DRL. 
 Time-share sellers must use forms approved by DRL. 
 
Time-Share Sales and Ownership 
 
Wisconsin Statutes chapter 707 regulates time-share sales and ownership.  Chapter 707 applies to 
timeshares involving the ownership or right to use property for at least 4 separate periods over at  
least 4 years.  The law applies to “timeshare estates” (ownership interests) as well as “time-share 
easements” (rights to use property). 
 



Chapter 707 applies to time-share properties located in this state.  It also applies to the promotion 
and sale, in this state, of time-shares in out-of-state properties.  But real estate laws in other states 
may govern property rights related to out-of-state time-shares.    
 
Creating Time-Shares 
If a person wishes to sell more than 12 time-shares in a single property, that person must record a 
time-share instrument in the county where the property is located. The time-share instrument 
must include specific information about the time-share property, and the rights and 
responsibilities of time-share owners (see chapter 707 for details).   
 
The instrument must include information related to property description, time-share periods, 
liability, time-share association membership and rights, property tax liability, insurance, 
maintenance and management.  It may also spell out other rights and responsibilities of time-
share owners, developers, mortgage holders and managers.   
 
Property Management 
A time-share association normally manages a time-share property, just as a condominium 
association manages a condominium.  A time-share association consists of time-share holders.  
Chapter 707 prescribes the formation, rights and responsibilities of the time-share association.  
The law describes the association’s rights and responsibilities relative to the time-share 
developer and individual time-share owners.   
 
Time-Share Termination 
Chapter 707 spells out procedures required to terminate time-shares.  It also spells out the rights 
and responsibilities of time-share owners if time-shares are terminated.  
 
Disclosure Statement  
A time-share developer must provide written disclosure statements to time-share purchasers 
(there are some exceptions).  A disclosure statement must include all the following (see chapter 
707 for details): 

 
 The developer’s name and address. 
 
 The name and location of the time-share property. 
 
 The following verbatim statements: 
 

 THESE ARE THE LEGAL DOCUMENTS COVERING YOUR RIGHTS AND 
RESPONSIBILITIES AS A TIME-SHARE OWNER. IF YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND ANY 
PROVISIONS CONTAINED IN THEM, YOU SHOULD OBTAIN PROFESSIONAL ADVICE. 

 
 THESE DISCLOSURE MATERIALS GIVEN TO YOU AS REQUIRED BY LAW MAY BE 

RELIED UPON AS CORRECT AND BINDING.  ORAL STATEMENTS MAY NOT BE 
LEGALLY BINDING. 

 
 YOU MAY CANCEL IN WRITING ANY CONTRACT FOR THE PURCHASE OF A TIME 

SHARE, WITHOUT ANY PENALTY OR OBLIGATION, WITHIN 5 BUSINESS DAYS FROM 
THE DATE YOU SIGN THE CONTRACT OR UNTIL 5 BUSINESS DAYS AFTE YOU RECEIVE 



THE TIME-SHARE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT, WHICHEVER IS LATER.  IF YOU SO 
CANCEL THE CONTRACT, YOU ARE ENTITLED TO RECEIVE A FULL REFUND OF ANY 
DEPOSITS MADE, EXCEPT, IF YOU HAVE USED OR OCCUPIED THE TIME-SHARE 
PROPERTY FOR MORE THAN 12 HOURS, THE MANAGING ENTITY OR CAMPGROUND 
OPERATOR MAY SUBTRACT FROM DEPOSITS MADE A REASONABLE CHARGE TO 
COVER THE LENGTH OF STAY PLUS THE COST OF DAMAGES TO THE TIME-SHARE 
PROPERTY DIRECTLY ATTRIBUTABLE TO YOU OR ANY MEMBER OF YOUR PARTY. 

 
 A description of the time-share property and units.  This must include: 
 
 The number and types of units in the property, and an identification of units that are time-

share units. 
 
 The types and duration of time-shares. 
 
 The maximum number of units that may be created, and the maximum number of time-

share units that may be created. 
 
 A schedule for starting and completing any promised improvements (including 

improvements promised in advertising or promotional materials). 
 
 A copy and brief narrative description of the time-share instrument (see Creating 

Timeshares, above). 
 
 A copy and brief narrative description of any contract or lease that the purchaser must sign at 

closing. 
 
 A current balance sheet and budget for the time-share association.   
 
 All fees and charges payable by the purchaser. 
 
 Any effect of liens, defects or encumbrances affecting title to the time-share units. 
 
 A description of any financing offered by the developer. 
 
 Warranty terms and limitations provided by the developer. 
 
 Any pending legal action that may affect the time-share units. 
 
 Notice that the developer will deposit 50% of all time-share deposits in an escrow account. 
 
 Any restrictions on the transfer of time-shares. 
 
 Insurance coverage provided for the benefit of time-share owners. 
 
 Financial arrangements for promised improvements. 
 



 Possible financial liability for liens against a time-share unit. 
 
 A time-share owner’s rights and remedies if the owner is denied exclusive occupancy of the 

time-shared unit during the time-share period.   
 
 Disclosures related to property condition if the property is more than 10 years old and is 

being converted to time-share use.   
 
“Exchange” Programs  
Some time-share developers offer “exchange” programs, in which time-share owners may 
exchange occupancy rights with other time-share owners.  Developers sometimes overstate the 
potential for “exchanging” time-shares.  A developer offering an “exchange” program must 
make written disclosures to each prospective time-share owner (see details in chapter 707).  
Disclosures must include: 

 

 Whether participation is voluntary or mandatory. 
 

 The name and address of the person operating the exchange program, and whether that 
person is connected with the developer. 

 

 The number and location of participating time-share sites, the number of participating time-
share units at each site, and the number of participating time-share owners at each site. 

 

 The complete terms and conditions of the exchange program, including exchange procedures, 
fees, and guarantees if any. 

 

 What happens if an exchange request cannot be honored. 
 
 Information showing the number of exchanges have occurred, and the percentage of 

exchange requests that have been honored. 
 
 
“Multi-location” Programs 
Some time-share developers offer “multi-location” programs in which a time-share owner may 
occupy time-share units at more than one location.  Developers sometimes overstate the potential 
to reserve the location of your choice.  A developer offering a “multi-location” program must 
make written disclosures to each prospective time-share owner (see details in chapter 707).  
Disclosures must include: 

 
 The complete terms and conditions of the multi-location program, including participation 

requirements, procedures for reserving occupancy at different locations, fees, and guarantees 
if any. 

 



 Any conditions, limitations and priorities that apply. 
 

 The number of time-share owners in the program. 
 

 Participating locations, the number of time-share units at each location, and whether the 
developer owns those units. 

 

 What happens if an occupancy request cannot be honored. 
 
 Information showing the number of occupancy requests for each location, compared to the 

number honored.   
 
Campgrounds 

Campground time-shares are subject to the same requirements that apply to other time-shares.  
The following provisions also apply (see chapter 707 for details): 

 

 Developers who offer “reciprocal” time-share arrangements with other campgrounds (owned 
by other developers) must maintain those arrangements, or provide equivalent alternatives if 
the arrangements are terminated. 

 

 The law restricts changes in campground dues and membership rights that adversely affect 
time-share owners. 

 

 A campground operator may, for certain reasons, terminate a time-share owner’s use of a 
campground.  The operator must give the time-share owner prior notice and an opportunity to 
cure the problem.  The operator must refund a reasonable share of the time-share owner’s 
investment.   

 

Warranties  

A time-share purchaser may hold a seller liable for broken warranties and sales promises, 
including promises to improve the time-share property.  A seller implicitly warrants the 
construction, fitness, condition and legal use of the time-share property, unless the seller makes a 
specific disclaimer. 
 

Resale Disclosures 

A person reselling a time-share must disclose relevant legal interests and financial obligations 
that may affect the purchaser (see chapter 707 for details). 

 

 



Advertising and Sales Practices  

A seller may not do any of the following in connection with the sale or offer of a time-share: 

 

 Make any false, deceptive, or misleading statement. 
 

 Represent that any discounts, special offers or purchase incentives are available only for the 
remainder of the day. 

 

 Represent that an incentive has a specific value, unless it can be sold apart from the sale of a 
time-share. 

 

 Misrepresent the resale value of a time-share. 
 

 Represent a time-share as a financial investment. 
 

 Misrepresent the identity, function, or authority of any salesperson. 
 

 Make any statement that contradicts the terms of the time-share contract. 
 

 Misrepresent the estimated length of any sales presentation. 
 

 Contact a prospective purchaser, for the purpose of selling a time-share, without clearly 
identifying the seller and disclosing that purpose. 

 

 Fail to include the following disclosure on any printed advertising material, including any 
material offering a prize or other incentive: 

 
 

THIS ADVERTISING MATERIAL IS BEING USED FOR THE PURPOSE OF SOLICITING THE 
SALE OF REAL PROPERTY OR INTERESTS IN REAL PROPERTY. 

 

 Fail to comply with the prize notice law, Wisconsin Statutes section 100.171.  For more 
information, see Consumer Law topic, PRIZES AND SWEEPSTAKES. 

  

 Ask a buyer to waive or certify a seller’s compliance with chapter 707. 
 

 

 



Buyer’s Right to Cancel  

 

 A buyer may cancel a time-share contract until midnight of the 5th business day following the 
date of the contract, or the date on which the seller gives the buyer the last of the documents 
required under chapter 707, whichever is later. 

 

 The seller may not record any title, deliver any deed, or release any deposit until the 
cancellation period expires.  

 

 The buyer may not waive the right to cancel.  
 

 The buyer may give notice of cancellation by mailing or delivering the notice by the deadline 
date. 

 

 The seller must refund all payments received from the canceling buyer.  The seller must 
make the refund within 20 days after receiving the cancellation notice, or within 5 days after 
receiving funds from the buyer’s cleared check, whichever is later.  The seller may deduct a 
reasonable charge for length of stay plus any property damages if the buyer stayed in the 
property for more than 12 hours before canceling. 

 

Enforcement 

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) enforces 
the time-share ownership law. There is also a private remedy for consumers. 

 

 An affected consumer, or class of consumers, may sue a violator for damages, injunctive 
relief, specific performance, rescission, costs and attorneys fees.  

 

 DATCP or a district attorney may seek a court order enjoining law violations and ordering 
restitution to consumers.  The Department of Justice or a district attorney may represent 
DATCP in court. 

 

 DATCP or a district attorney may seek a court-ordered civil forfeiture of up to $5,000 per 
violation. The Department of Justice or a district attorney may represent DATCP in court.   

	


