
What is the Wisconsin Do Not Call 
Registry? 
The Wisconsin Do Not Call Registry gives you an 
opportunity to limit the telemarketing calls you 
receive. Once you register your home or cell 
phone number, telemarketers covered by the 
Wisconsin Do Not Call Registry have up to 31 
days from the date you register to stop calling 
you. 

Any business – whether located inside or outside 
of Wisconsin – soliciting Wisconsin residents by 
telephone call or text message, must obtain a 
copy of the registry and delete the consumers’ 
names from its own calling list.  

The law also prohibits businesses from intentionally 
blocking the Caller ID feature on your telephone. 

Who manages the Wisconsin Do Not 
Call Registry? 
The Wisconsin Do Not Call Registry is managed 
by the US Federal Trade Commission (FTC), the 
nation’s consumer protection agency. 

How do I sign up for the list? 
You may sign up for the Wisconsin Do Not Call 
Registry one of two ways:  

1. By calling toll-free: 1-888-382-1222 
 You can register only one home or cell phone 

number each time you call the Do Not Call 
Registry, and you must call from the phone 
number you wish to register. 

2. Online at: NoCall.Wisconsin.gov. 
 You may register up to three home or cell 

phone numbers at one time on the Do Not 
Call Registry website. The online registration 
process requires an active email address. You 
will receive a separate confirmation email for 
each number you wish to register online. You 
must open each email and click on the link in 
each email within 72 hours to complete the 
registration process. If you have more than 
three telephone numbers, you will have to go 
through the registration process more than 

once to register all your numbers. There is a 
limit on the number of phone numbers you 
can register in this manner. 

 
How much does it cost to join the list? 
There is no charge to register for the Wisconsin 
Do Not Call Registry. 

How can I verify my number is on the 
registry? 
To verify that your number is on the registry, go 
to www.donotcall.gov or call 1-888-382-1222 
(TTY: 1-866-290-4236). When you register, 
telemarketers will have 31 days to take your 
number off their call lists. 
 
How long does my number stay 
registered? 
Telephone numbers on the registry will only be 
removed when they are disconnected and 
reassigned, or when the consumer chooses to 
remove a number from the registry. 
 
What if I move or my number is 
disconnected? 
If you move and get a new number, you need to 
register the new number. 

You do not need to take your old phone number 
off the list when you get a new number. You can 
if you would like to, but the system will 
automatically remove most numbers that are 
disconnected and reassigned. 

If your phone number is disconnected and then 
reconnected you may need to re-register. In 
addition, there are actions that you or your 
telephone company might take that could cause 
your registered phone number to become 
unregistered – even if your service has not been 
interrupted (such as changing calling plans or 
other services, or changing the billing name on 
the account.)  

 

To verify that your number is in the Registry, go 
to www.donotcall.gov or call 1-888-382-1222 
(TTY: 1-866-290-4236). Each time you  
re-register, telemarketers will have 31 days to 
take your number off their call lists. 
 
What if I change my mind and want to 
take my number off the registry? 
You can delete your phone number only by 
calling toll-free 1-888-382-1222 from the 
telephone number you want to delete. After you 
contact the registry to delete the number, it will 
be removed from the Do Not Call Registry by the 
next day. But telemarketers have up to 31 days 
to access information about your deletion and 
add your number back to their call lists, if they 
choose to. 
 
I received a phone call for someone 
offering to put my name on the Do Not 
Call Registry. Should I let them? 
No. Private companies or other such third parties 
are not allowed to register consumers for the Do 
Not Call Registry. Websites or phone solicitations 
that claim they can or will register a consumer’s 
name or phone number on the registry – 
especially those that charge a fee – are almost 
certainly a scam. Consumers may register 
directly but never through private companies. For 
consumers, the registry is a free service. 

Only you should register your telephone 
numbers. 
 
Does the Do Not Call Registry stop all 
telemarketing calls? 
The Do Not Call Registry should stop MOST 
telemarketing calls and text messages but there 
are exceptions for: 

1. Contacts made to an existing customer – for 
example, calls from your insurance agent or 
your phone company. However, businesses are 
allowed one telephone call or text message to 
determine whether a former client mistakenly 
allowed a contract to lapse. Businesses are 
also allowed to make one contact to 

determine a former client’s level of 
satisfaction, unless the call is part of a plan or 
scheme to encourage the former client to 
purchase property, goods or services. 

2. A call or text made in response to your written 
or verbal request or permission.  

3. A call or text encouraging you to make a 
donation of property, goods or services to a 
“nonprofit organization.” 

4. A call or text encouraging you to purchase 
property, goods or services from a “nonprofit 
organization” unless sale proceeds are 
subject to Wisconsin sales tax or federal 
income tax. 

5. A call or text made for non-commercial 
purposes such as polls, surveys and political 
purposes.  

6. A call or text made to a business telephone 
number.  

7. A call or text made by an individual acting on 
his or her own behalf, and not as an employee 
or agent for any other person.  

8. A call or text made by a collection agency. 
 
IMPORTANT: Even if a call or text is exempt 
from this law, you can still stop many of these 
contacts just by telling them to not contact you 
again. Federal law requires each and every 
business to place your name on their internal “no 
call” list, if you request it. 
 
Can I register my business/office 
phone number or a fax number? 
No. The law excludes businesses and business 
telephone numbers. The Do Not Call Registry is 
only for personal home or cell phone numbers 
 
What about my home business 
phone? 
No. Any phone that is a business phone is not 
eligible to be on the Do Not Call Registry. If your 
home office phone is also your residential line, 
then it is eligible to be included on the registry. 



Who enforces the Do Not Call 
Registry? 
The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade 
and Consumer Protection (DATCP) is the agency 
responsible for investigating violations of the 
Wisconsin telephone solicitation laws.  

DATCP will contact the offending business, 
making them aware of the Do Not Call Registry. 
After a reasonable amount of time to comply, if 
we receive subsequent complaints about the 
same business, we may pursue court action and 
monetary penalties. 

DATCP can be reached at 1-800-422-7128, 
608-224-4999 or by e-mail to: 
DATCPWiNoCall@wi.gov 
 
What are the penalties if a 
telemarketer calls or texts me after my 
name has been added to the list? 
Telemarketers who call or text someone on the 
Wisconsin Do Not Call Registry can be subject to 
a $100 forfeiture per violation. 
 
What should I do if I get a 
telemarketing call or text message 
after I have registered to be on the 
list? 
1. If you have Caller ID, write down the phone 

number from which they are calling or texting. 
It is illegal for a telemarketer to block Caller 
ID. 

2. Get the name of the company for which the 
telemarketer works. Often companies will 
contract with telemarketing companies to 
market their services for them. Make sure you 
get the name of the telemarketing company as 
well as the company for which they are 
selling. All telemarketers are required to state 
their name and their company’s name at the 
beginning of the call. If you did not hear it, ask 
them to repeat it.  

3. Ask the telemarketer for their Wisconsin 
telephone solicitor registration number.  

4. Try to get their manager’s phone number and 
an address for the telemarketing firm. Make 
sure you note the date and time the call was 
made. Then fill out a No Call Complaint 
questionnaire. 

5. Remember you are not automatically added to 
the registry the day you sign up. After you 
register, your phone number will show up on 
the registry by the next day. Telemarketers 
have up to 31 days to get your phone number 
and remove it from their call lists. 

 
Does the Do Not Call Registry stop 
faxes from telemarketers? 
No. The law only covers “voice communications” 
and text messages. 
 
Does the Do Not Call Registry stop 
those pre-recorded messages from 
telemarketers? 
Yes, as long as they are not from one of the 
exempt groups. However, if you are a customer 
of a business, they may not use pre-recorded 
messages to contact you. 
 
Can telemarketers or anyone else use 
the registry to make sales calls? Will 
the registry be given out for any other 
purpose? 
No. The law very clearly states that any other use 
of the list is illegal. The list is not subject to an 
“Open Records” request, unlike most other state 
documents. If it is discovered that the list is being 
used for any other purpose, DATCP will 
prosecute the perpetrators to the fullest extent of 
the law. 
 
Do I need Caller ID to make the 
Wisconsin Do Not Call Registry work? 
No. You are not required to have a Caller ID 
service to receive the benefits of the Do Not Call 
Registry.  

The registry works independently of any Caller ID 
service you may have. Instead of blocking 
incoming calls, the list requires telemarketers to 
take people who have signed up for the Do Not 
Call Registry off their marketing or calling lists, 
with some exceptions. 
 
What is the difference between the 
Wisconsin Do Not Call Registry and 
the Direct Marketing Association’s 
“Do Not Call” list? 
The Direct Marketing Association’s list is a 
nationwide, voluntary list that telemarketers may 
obtain to avoid calling people who do not wish to 
receive calls. The Direct Marketing list carries no 
penalties for calling people on that list, and is not 
enforceable by any Wisconsin or federal agency. 
The Wisconsin Do Not Call Registry is an 
enforceable mandate by the Wisconsin 
Legislature to provide protection for those 
individuals who want to limit telemarketing calls 
to their residential home or cell phone number(s). 
 
How do I file a do not call complaint? 
For more information or to file a complaint, visit 
our website or contact the Bureau of Consumer 
Protection. 

 

Bureau of Consumer Protection 
2811 Agriculture Drive 

PO Box 8911 
Madison WI 53708-8911 

 
E-MAIL: DATCPWiNoCall@wi.gov 

 
WEBSITE: NoCall.Wisconsin.gov 

 
(800) 422-7128 

 
(608) 224-4999 

 
FAX: (608) 224-4677 

 
TTY: (608) 224-5058 
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