
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 

Wisconsin’s direct marketing rule 
 
Wisconsin has a direct marketing 
law to protect consumers in 
telephone, e-mail, fax, mail, and 
door-to-door transactions. This 
includes sales made in motel and 
hotel rooms and other places 
away from the seller’s place of 
business. 

Before direct marketers say 
anything other than a short 
greeting, they must disclose who 
they are, who they are soliciting 
on behalf of, and what they are 
selling. 

Before finalizing the sale, and 
taking a credit card number or 
taking any money, they must 
disclose the cost, quantity, 
conditions, refund policy and the 
name and address of the principal 
company. 

A direct marketer cannot bill your 
credit card without your verifiable 
authorization and the marketers 
must keep records of transactions 
for at least two years. 

This law also prohibits: 

• Threatening, intimidating or 
harassing consumers. 

• Failing to leave a consumer’s 
premises upon request. 
 

• Calling consumers who 
previously said they do not 
wish to receive telephone 
solicitations from that seller. 

• Calling consumers before 8 
a.m. or after 9 p.m. without 
their prior consent. 

• Representing to consumers 
that they are conducting a 
survey or a contest, when they 
are trying to sell goods, or 
attempting to get information 
for sales prospects. 

• Misrepresenting that they are 
affiliated with a government or 
third-party organization. 

• Requesting or receiving 
payment for loan finder 
services before the consumer 
actually receives the promised 
loan. This is aimed at 
companies that promise loans, 
charge a fee, and disappear 
without producing the loan. 

In addition, the law prohibits 
solicitors from requiring a 
purchase as a condition of entry 
into a prize promotion. The law 
requires solicitors to verify the 
retail value of prizes and disclose 
the odds of winning. 
 

Three-day cooling-off 
period 
The rule adds enforcement 
penalties to another Wisconsin 
law which provides a “cooling-off” 
period allowing you three 
business days to think about and 
cancel a direct marketing sale if 
you wish. This applies to credit 
transactions and cash sales of 
over $25 that occur away from 
the seller's regular place of 
business. The three-day right to 
cancel does not cover real estate, 
auctions, items used for 
agricultural purposes or insurance 
even if sold door to door. Your 
three-day right to cancel starts 
after the seller has provided you 
the proper written notice of your 
right to cancel. 

Cancelling the contract 
In a direct marketing transaction, 
you must be notified of your 
three-day right to cancel. If you 
do choose to cancel, send your 
cancellation by certified mail so 
you will have written proof that 
your cancellation notice was sent 
on time. Your money must be 
returned to you within 10 days. If 
the seller does not pick-up the 
product in 20 days, you may keep 
it. 
 



Unauthorized payment 
Under this rule, the direct 
marketer must obtain your 
authorization (either written or 
oral) before asking for or 
accepting payment via a credit 
card number or submitting a 
check. 

Unordered goods 
What about things you have 
received in the mail that you did 
not order? Under another state 
law, unsolicited merchandise is 
considered a gift and may be kept 
without any obligation to the 
sender. Do not be pressured to 
pay companies who make a 
practice of mailing unordered 
merchandise on a “trial basis,” 
followed by phony invoices. 

For more information or to file a 
complaint against a seller you 
believe has violated the law, visit 
our website or contact the Bureau 
of Consumer Protection. 
 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 

2811 Agriculture Drive 
PO Box 8911 

Madison WI 53708-8911 
 

E-MAIL: 
DATCPHotline@wi.gov 

 
WEBSITE: 

datcp.wi.gov 
 

(800) 422-7128 
 

(608) 224-4976 
 

FAX: (608) 224-4677 
 

TTY: (608) 224-5058 
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