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Dating Services   
 
Wisconsin Statutes section 100.175 regulates “dating services,” especially those that take cash in 
advance:   
 
A dating service must give each buyer a written contract.  The contract must disclose: 
 
 All charges, including interest charges. 
 That the buyer has a 3-day right to cancel.  The statute prescribes a specific disclosure 

format.   
 The contract duration (not more than 2 years).   
 
 If the buyer exercises the 3-day right to cancel, the service provider must refund all payments 

within 21 days. 
 
The service provider may not collect more than $100 in advance unless the service provider files 

security with the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 
(DATCP).   A service provider must file a total of at least $25,000 security for the benefit of 
all buyers.    

 
 A service provider may not enforce a contract that does not comply with the law.  If a service 

provider violates the law, an affected consumer may also sue to recover damages, costs and 
attorney fees. 

 
DATCP may prosecute law violators, with the help of a district attorney or the Department of 

Justice.  DATCP may seek an injunction, restitution, and civil forfeitures of up to $10,000 
per violation.      

 
 
 


