
 

 

 
MILK CONTRACTOR  

LICENSE APPLICATION INFORMATION 
 

Chapter 126, Wisconsin Statutes. – Chapter ATCP 100, Wisconsin Administrative Code 
 

The Milk Contractor License Application is required to be filled out by a milk contractor who procures 
producer milk in this state as defined in § 126.40(8), Wis. Stats.  A $25.00 license fee is to be 
submitted with the application.  ****For question 5 on page 3 of an original application, you are to 
provide an estimate of the total milk payroll obligation that you will incur in your first 12 month 
complete fiscal year operating as a milk contractor.  If you first became licensed as a milk contractor 
during the past license year and after your most recent fiscal year end, you are to provide an 
estimate of the total milk payroll obligation that you will incur in your first 12 month complete fiscal 
year operating as a milk contractor.****  On question 6 and 7 provide an estimate of the 
hundredweight of milk and the highest month obligation during that same 12 month period. 
 

The license application needs to be signed by an officer of the company that is listed on the 
application or an attachment to the application, and that signature must be notarized; otherwise it 
is not a valid license application.  If any lines are left blank in the signature/notarization portion of 
the license application, it is not a completed license application.  All license fees and surcharges 
must be paid before a license application is accepted as a complete and valid license application. 
 

Section 126.41(3), Wis. Stats., states the annual license fee and surcharges that apply for operating 
without a license and for submitting renewal applications late (see fee & surcharge statement).  
Generally, there is a required annual fund assessment that is paid into an agricultural producer 
security fund each year, if you have a current ratio less than 1.25 to 1, a debt to equity ratio of more 
than 2 to 1, or negative equity.  The assessment rate calculations can be found in § ATCP 100.135, 
Wis. Adm. Code.  A milk contractor assessment calculator can be found on the department website.  
An assessment fee invoice will be sent when the milk contractor license is issued.   
 

If you have negative equity reported on a required financial statement when first licensed and you 
report more than 150,000 hundredweight (cwt) of producer milk that the applicant will procure in this 
state during the applicant’s first complete fiscal year [§ 126.47 (1) (a), Wis. Stats.], you are required to 
file security before a license is issued instead of paying annual assessments. 
 

Wisconsin Statute Section 126.44 Requires The Following:   
 

Annual Financial Statement:  Milk contractors are required to file an annual financial statement 
with the department before the department first licenses the milk contractor, unless the milk 
contractor reports no more than 150,000 cwt of producer milk on their milk contractor license 
application. 
 

All milk contractors are required to file an annual financial statement by the 15th day of the 4th 
month following the close of the milk contractor’s fiscal year, unless: 
 

 A milk contractor reports no more than 150,000 cwt of producer milk on their milk contractor 
application, or  

 A contributing milk contractor procures producer milk in this state solely as a producer agent. 



 

 

 
Failure to file by the 15th day of the 4th month will result in a $100 license surcharge for failure to file 
an annual financial statement by the applicable deadline, if you are required to file a financial 
statement. The department may extend the filing deadline for up to 30 days, if a written request for 
extension is received at least 10 days before the filing deadline [§ 126.44(1)(d), Wis. Stats.].  “A 
person filing a financial statement under this section may not file, in lieu of that person’s financial 
statement, the financial statement of the person’s parent organization, subsidiary, predecessor, or 
successor.” [§126.44(10), Wis. Stats.].  “If a milk contractor has been in business for less than one 
year, the milk contractor may file an annual financial statement… consisting of a balance sheet and 
notes.” [§ 126.44(8)(b), Wis. Stats.].   
 
A financial statement is not required, if you report less than 150,000 cwt of producer milk in the 
previous fiscal year.  You may file a reviewed or an audited financial statement, if you report more 
than 150,000 cwt but no more than 2,500,000 cwt of producer milk.  A reviewed financial statement 
must include a sworn and notarized statement that the financial statement is correct.  You must file an 
audited financial statement, if you report more than 2,500,000 cwt of producer milk.  The 
hundredweight of producer milk is based on your fiscal year end.   
 
Under § 126.44 (8) (c), Wis. Stats., the milk contractor shall include calculations of the milk 
contractor’s current ratio and debt to equity ratio in the financial statement.  This may be done by a 
separate attachment to the financial statement.  If you are required to file a financial statement, please 
include such calculations with a financial statement.  These calculations will be used to determine the 
annual fund assessments required in § ATCP 100.135, Wis. Adm. Code.  The assessment is 
determined for a full year as required in § ATCP 100.135 (7) (c), Wis. Adm. Code., when the financial 
statement is received and the license application is completed.  
 
Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapter ATCP 100: This rule includes disclosures that must be 
made in June of each year to producers or producer agents from whom you purchase milk.  Any new 
producers or producer agents that you purchase from after June of each year should receive a 
disclosure notice prior to your first purchase of milk from those producers or producer agents.  Section 
ATCP 100.20(2), Wis. Adm. Code, lists the various forms of disclosures.  You must provide the milk 
security disclosure statement VERBATIM to milk producers and producer agents as required in § 
ATCP 100.20(1), Wis. Adm. Code, when you first procure milk from them. 
 
If you have any questions regarding licensing of milk contractors, please contact Darlene Davidson at 
(608) 224-4998 or Eric Hanson at (608) 224-4968. 
 
Please return the application completely filled out with the $25.00 application fee and any required 
financial statements or security to: 
 

Agricultural Producer Security Section 
WDATCP 

2811 Agriculture Drive 
PO Box 8911 

Madison WI 53708-8911 
 


