
 

 

The CWD Herd Status 

Program in Wisconsin 

Background 

Division of Animal Health  
Wisconsin Department of  

Agriculture, Trade and  

No person may keep farm-raised deer at 
any location in Wisconsin unless they have 
a valid farm-raised deer keeper herd regis-
tration certificate issued by the department 
authorizing that person to keep farm-raised 
deer at that location. Requirements for the 
keeping of  farm−raised deer in Wisconsin 
are established under ch. ATCP 10, Wis. 
Admin. Code, and s.95.55 Wis. Stats. The 
complete set of rules can be viewed on the 
web at: 
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code/atcp/
atcp010.pdf.  Wis. Statutes: http://
docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/
statutes/95.pdf. 

Record Keeping 

In addition to records required of all farm-raised 
deer owners, owners of a herd enrolled in the 
CWD Herd Status Program must keep all of the 
following records: 
 
A record of each farm-raised deer added to the 
herd from another source that includes: 

 The species, age and sex; all individual ID’s. 

 The name and address of the person from 
whom you received the farm-raised deer.  

 The address and livestock premises code (if 
any) of the source herd. 

 Copies of the certificate of veterinary inspec-
tions that accompanied the farm-raised deer. 

 Date of receipt 
 
A record of each farm-raised deer leaving the 
herd that includes: 

 Whether the farm-raised deer died, was 
slaughtered, or was shipped live - not to 
slaughter. 

 If shipped live, not to slaughter, the name 
and address of recipient and a copy of the 
certificate of veterinary inspection(s). 

 If shipped to slaughter, the name and ad-
dress of slaughter facility and the age of the 
farm-raised deer. 

 If died on the premises, the age, apparent 
cause of death, and carcass disposition 
(including carcass destination and recipient if 
removed from the premises). 

 
Records of all CWD test results conducted on 
farm-raised deer in the herd. 
 
These records must be retained for at least five 
years and must be made available to the depart-
ment for inspection and copying upon request. 
 
If you no longer wish to be enrolled in the CWD 
Herd Status program you must complete a final 
census to show the disposition of your herd. 
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 CWD General  

Symptoms: 
You must report any symptoms of CWD to a cer-

tified veterinarian within 24 hours, regardless of 

whether your herd is enrolled in the CWD Herd 

Status Program.  Information regarding CWD 

symptoms, can be found at:   

http://www.cwd-info.org/index.php/fuseaction/

about.faq. 

Testing: 

Every farm-raised deer that dies or is killed at 12 

months or older must be tested for CWD regard-

less of how you dispose of the carcass. Your 

herd veterinarian must collect samples within 7 

days of death or discovery of the death and sub-

mit samples to an approved lab within 10 days 

after he/she collects them. 

Division of Animal Health Wisconsin 

Department of Agriculture, Trade and  

Consumer Protection 

http://www.datcp.state.wi.us 

United States Department of Agriculture 

Animal and Plant Health Inspection  

Service 

Safeguarding American Agriculture 

This brochure was made possible, in part, by a Cooperative Agree-
ment from the United States department of Agriculture's Animal 

and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS). It may not necessari-

ly express APHIS' view. 

For more information, please contact the 
Division of Animal Health at (608) 224-4896. 



 

 

Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) Herd Status Program in Wisconsin 

 Comply with all general requirements for 

keeping farm-raised deer in Wisconsin under 

ATCP 10, subchapter VII. 

 Submit an application form, which includes a 

complete herd census completed no more 

than 30 days prior to application.  Forms are 

available by calling 608-224-4896. 

 Provide your herd veterinarian’s statements 
that she/he has established a client-patient 
relationship and no deer shows signs of 
CWD. 

 Submit a physical herd inventory. 

 CWD Herd Status Program Overview  

To add a farm-raised deer to your CWD Herd 

Status Program enrolled herd you must:  

 Comply with applicable movement regula-

tions as established in s. ATCP 10.56 for in-

state movements or s. ATCP 10.55 for im-

ported deer. 

You may not move live farm-raised deer off a farm 

in Wisconsin unless you are enrolled in the CWD 

Herd Status Program with at least five years sta-

tus.  This brochure summarizes the CWD Herd 

Status Program requirements in Wisconsin.  Com-

plete CWD Herd Status Program rules are found 

in s. ATCP 10.53. 

To enroll in the program you must: 

To remain in the program you must: 

If you assemble a new herd, you may receive 
the CWD, Tuberculosis, and Brucellosis status 
date of the most recently enrolled herd you buy 
from, but only if: 

 You apply for enrollment within 90 days of 

receiving the first farm-raised deer. 

 You provide all the information required in 

the initial census including the 2 individual 

ID’s for all farm-raised deer, birth month and 

year, name and address of the keeper and 

location and premises code, if any, of the     

herd(s) of origin, and date each farm-raised 

deer was added to the new herd. 

 You test for CWD any farm-raised deer 12 

months or older that dies or is killed before 

your herd is enrolled in the CWD Herd Sta-

tus Program. 

 You are not repopulating a location where a 

herd was killed because of exposure to or 

infection with CWD. 

 You move the deer in compliance with ss. 

ATCP 10.55 and 10.56. 

Herd Additions: 

Assembling New Herds 

 Identify all farm-raised deer before they are 

12 months old with 2 individual identifica-

tions, one official and one unique to the herd.  

 Test for CWD every farm-raised deer 12 

months or older that dies, is killed, or goes to 

slaughter. 

 Call your herd veterinarian within 24 hours if 

you see any signs of CWD. 

 Complete an annual census that identifies all 

farm-raised deer added to or removed from 

the herd since the last census. File the cen-

sus with the department. 

 Complete a physical inventory with your herd 

veterinarian every 3 years. 

The department may suspend, without notice or 
hearing, a herd’s enrollment for any of the follow-
ing reasons: 

 Falsification of information for new or contin-
uing herd enrollment purposes. 

 Failure to comply with requirements for con-
tinued enrollment. 

 Failure to comply with requirements for herd 
additions. 

 At least two wild deer found or killed within 
five miles of the herd have tested positive for 
CWD and the herd is not enclosed by a dou-
ble protective barrier. 

 Fewer then 90% of the farm-raised deer that 
left the herd by death, escape, or slaughter in 
a census year were tested for CWD. 

 A CWD positive farm-raised deer was previ-
ously a member of the herd. 

 The department reasonably suspects that the 
herd may include deer infected with CWD. 

Herd Enrollment Suspension 

 Provide your herd veterinarian’s statements 

that he/she has maintained a valid client-

patient relationship and that there have been 

no CWD signs in the past year. 

 Report all escapes to DATCP (at 608-224-
4886) and to your local DNR warden within 
24 hours and include information as part of 
your annual census.   

 Create and maintain complete herd records 
for each farm-raised deer (see record keep-
ing section). 

Herd Enrollment Revocation 

The department may revoke, without notice or 

hearing, a herd’s CWD Herd Status Program en-

rollment for any of the following reasons: 

 Failure to correct conditions that previously 

resulted in a herd’s suspension. 

 A CWD positive farm-raised deer is found in 

the herd. 


